The Uncomfortable…a movie review of ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’

The Girl With The Dragon TattooPhoto Courtesy of: hytam2

“Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive.”Josephine Hart, Damage

(found quote at Just Under the Surface)

This quote is awesome. …It is Lisbeth Salander.

She is damaged, as a result of being a tortured and victimized girl. Out of the simple necessity for survival, she becomes strong and seemingly fearless, with her walls up high and heavily guarded.

She is vulnerable, though much of it she keeps under lock and key.

She is human, and although projects a ‘badass’ image, we see in her fear, though it is masked, and shoved to the side by anger and her vengeance for those who commit hate crimes towards women. She is a crusader, a warrior, a vigilante. (I want to hug this girl… but then again, I’m kind of afraid of her. She’d kick my a@# in a heart beat.)

Rooney Mara encompasses this character fully. I never once saw an actress on-screen portraying a character. I saw Lisbeth.

Simply stated, David Fincher’s The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is a hard movie to watch. It is ugly, and shows the ugly side of what our species is capable of (hate, rape, murder, lies, and manipulation). Now, I did not enjoy seeing these horrid/awful themes present themselves. To be honest, watching it totally gave me the cringe factor and I was not immune to the sick feeling at the pit of my stomach. I did, however, like the movie due to the fact that it was willing to talk about the ugly things that go on in life. Most people go on ignoring/act unaware or are, in fact, truly unaware that bad things like these happen. I felt that this book/movie was trying to say, “hey, don’t ignore me… this stuff is real. It does/can happen.” I appreciated the fact that this story was able to talk about uncomfortable issues, that are so often swept under the rug. To bring awareness and make changes in this world and society, we have to address the “uncomfortable.”

“The Uncomfortable”

  1. 18% of the women in Sweden have at one time been threatened by a man.
  2. 46% of the women in Sweden have been subjected to violence by a man.
  3. 13% of the women in Sweden have been subjected to aggravated sexual assault outside of a sexual relationship.
  4. 92% of women in Sweden who have been subjected to sexual assault have not reported the most recent violent incident to the police.

Statistics found before each section in Larsson’s book, TGWTDT.

14 thoughts on “The Uncomfortable…a movie review of ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’

  1. Jacklyn Belo says:

    i also felt uncomfortable watching the movie.. that i have to wink or skip some scenes even if i read the book before watching.. the movie shows some harsh realities of humanity. Considering that Larsson is a journalist, i bet there is some truth in his work of fiction 🙂

  2. Thank you for reading and commenting on my review. Appreciate it. 🙂 And yes, I do think there is truth to his fiction as he also strategically places facts/statistics in the book before each part/section to give the reader a sense of the prevalence of hate crimes against women (though the data only reflects Swedish culture. Violence and hate, though, are not exclusive to one particular culture or country. It exists in all cultures and countries, and if it happens there (Sweden), it goes without saying that it can/does happen here (wherever one is located).

    Again, I really appreciate your stopping by my page. Appreciate your thoughts and take. 🙂

  3. The books are even harder to read than the movie was to watch. Larrsen didn’t pull any punches, that’s for sure.

    Very good post about the movie and about violence against women as an international crisis.

  4. NatsBookNook says:

    The original version of this movie is way more uncomfortable. But this is a good, well thought out review of the remake.

    • You know, I was wondering if that was the case seeing as I’ve seen clips from the original and it looks more violent then Fincher’s version. So I take it you’ve seen both. Which one do you feel was truer to the book?

      • NatsBookNook says:

        The original for sure. Naomi Rapace is the original Lizbet Salander and she was offered the American version of the film but turned it down. Saying that the movies literally sucked the life out of her and there’s no way she could portray Lizbet again. I watched the original first, and although the new movie was in all respect a great movie, I felt like there was no need for a sequel. You should watch it (once you’ve recovered from this one, lol) and I think you will see what I mean!

        • Yvan says:

          I must disagree with NatsBookNook on this one: I definitely believe that the American version is closer to the book. About violence… I guess both have their share. But yeah, the Swedish one shows some things that make you rub your own body in pain…
          You definitely have to watch the Swedish one (there are the actual movies, AND an extended version, which in fact was initially some sort of TV mini series, worth watching, since more detailed than the “movie edit”). Both movies, along with the book, really make a great experience as regards Larsson’s story.

          • Ya, I really do want to view the Swedish version as am curious of the portrayal of all the characters (especially Lisbeth), and to observe the subtle and not so subtle differences from the Hollywood version. I will definitely fill you in on my take once I have a chance to view it. Thank you for commenting on my page and post, as really do appreciate it 🙂

  5. NatsBookNook says:

    Oops, I didn’t mean sequel but remake 🙂

  6. Craig says:

    Very interesting review. I loved the Swedish version, so am looking forward to Fincher’s take on the book immensly!

    • I am really interested in seeing the Swedish one. I know there are camps for each version that claim one to better then the other. Though have also heard that they are really two different movies, and great in their own right. In regards to the Swedish one, since I have yet to see it, (I have only seen bits and pieces of scenes and read some commentary on the portrayal of “Lisbeth’s” character) I am left with a vague impression that “Lisbeth” is presented more as a “machine” in this one …meaning, she is hard and rough and edgy (which of course Lisbeth is), but there is little/if any vulnerable aspects… Since you have seen this movie, I’d love to know your take on the Swedish “Lisbeth”…

      • Craig says:

        Noomi Rapace is excellent as Lisbeth, tough mostly, but vulnerable, especially in the sequels, Without having seen the new one (yet) I can’t compare, but will be interesting to find out…

    • Thanks for reading and commenting on my post. Appreciate it. I saw your posting earlier today regarding your viewing of Fincher’s remake of the film. I too wanted to experience both so watched the Swedish on this past weekend. They both definitely had there strengths, and I cannot wait to finish reading this series.

I would love to hear your thoughts...

