Music Review: The Hunger Games Soundtrack

//mockingjay

Photo Courtesy of: Austin Graver

Old time sound in a futuristic world. Many of the Songs From District 12, The Hunger Games soundtrack, possess this quality.  During the first listen, I could detect shared threads of tone with musicians such as Nickel Creek and Alison Krauss.

Which I happen to think is really pretty genius.

Firstly, I want to share with you some of the songs that have already become my favorites. Abrahams’ Daughter by Arcade Fire, Tomorrow Will Be Kinder by The Secret Sisters, and Come Away To The Water by Maroon 5 (featuring Rozzi Crane).

Though, some of the songs do not have a quiet melody, such as Birdy’s Just a Game, or Taylor Swift’s (Civil Wars) Safe and Sound. Truly, a few of them sound ugly (The Ruler and The Killer by Kid Cudi and Take The Heartland by Glen Hansard), though who said The Hunger Games was a pretty book full of daisy’s, endless sunshine, and belly’s full of bread?

The album is a cohesive collection that reflects Collin’s Panem, and evokes all the feeling, thoughtfulness, and emotion emiting from the page. As far as I’m concerned… The soundtrack has given justice to what this book speaks of and represents. I don’t give letter grades, so I’ll satisfy you in saying….

GRADE: +

2 thoughts on “Music Review: The Hunger Games Soundtrack

  1. The only sound I’ve heard from the album is Taylor Swift’s (Civil Wars) ‘Safe and Sound.’ I’m going to have to check it out, now, having read your post. I would imagine it would be a bit melancholy, a bit energetic. I’m going to try to see the movie this weekend!

  2. Yeah, it is basically as you described (both melancholy and energetic)… And if you see the movie, I’ll be interested in knowing your thoughts.

I would love to hear your thoughts...

