Review: official music video for Safe and Sound

FirePhoto Courtesy of: Dinnovation (flickr)

So, we’ve ventured down this road a time or two before, but what’s one more travel down the path of the song that is “Safe and Sound” by Taylor Swift (said to be released on the upcoming The Hunger Games soundtrack). The official video has made it’s way onto tv and computer screens, and the whole world now is able to see this song come to life in video form. Have you had a chance to see it yet? If not, you should. Take a gander at it now, if you’d like. I’ll wait. 🙂

Do you think the video is good? Does it enhance the song in anyway? Personally, as much as I admire the videos attempt to capture the haunting beauty of the song, I prefer the music itself as a stand alone piece of work/art. While some art can simply exist on it’s own, there are some that need to be infused with with other art forms, mixed and molded together to reach it’s maximum potential and climb to great heights.

Although I don’t dislike the video by any means, I did find myself saying, “does the video bring or add any layers of depth that don’t already exist within the song itself?” And I found myself answering my own question with an extreme ease. “No…it doesn’t.”

What are your thoughts. I’d love to know your take on this video. Do share…

I would love to hear your thoughts...