Old Country, New Country, and some Anne Shirley…

Had myself a bout of country music fever in highschool. I shortly recovered thereafter. I’ve never been a huge fan of this modern (and what I like to consider “watered down”) country music. I mean where are the likes of Tammy Wynette, George Jones, Kris Kristofferson, John Denver, etc. …  It’s been over a decade now, and the slumbering country music lover that I had figured was long gone and no longer to return, woke up.  As if from a dream. Eyes alert, ears open, I have come to find a modern county tune that I really can say, “Hey, I like that.” Grant it, it will never compare to Johnny Cash, or any of the greats, but hey, its good. And that’s all ya can ask for in this genre that has newly evolved from a once great grass roots sound that offered depth in the areas of life, in both love and loss, stemming directly from the hearts of those who sang them. The pioneers, the originators of country music needed no video or camera crew… just their guitars, fingers to strum them, and in-tune vocal folds to resonate the strength of their words. … though, I digress.  Getting back on track, here’s a gem I’d like to share, made popular by the country music group “The Band Perry,” titled If I Die Young. And tell me, is this an ‘I like this, but will wear off on me sooner rather then later’ type of song, or is this a keeper?

Sidenote: the video evokes an Anne of Green Gables moment where Ms. Shirley is in the canoe reciting, “The Lady of Shallot” by  the poet Lord Alfred Tennyson, does it not?

One thought on “Old Country, New Country, and some Anne Shirley…

  1. ziwaka says:

    I like this song too!!! 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts...

